Starting my Language Learning Journey

Walking on the road, I’ve always been mumbling French and Spanish words all the time, dreaming one day of traveling into foreign lands, having conversations with foreign people in their own language. Languages interests me. Having conversations in a unique way and acquiring another culture through languages is an amazing thing to experience. Communicating with clients all over the world fascinates and drives me to learn languages.

The first time I spoke with my French client who was an English teacher and telling him that I was a language enthusiast, he engaged me  to have a few conversations with him in French everyday. I can see that he was really fascinated with my enthusiasm of his language. Seeing me learning his very own language makes him pleased and overwhelmed.

I few weeks ago, I just started my journey with the Spanish and Portuguese languages as well as I might probably meet some Spanish or Portuguese traveler. They’re like sister languages which is very relevant to each other. I hope I could speak these languages fluently in the future, especially Spanish which has a historical and linguistic significance with my own mother tongue language, the Hiligaynon. My language has almost 60% of the Spanish words, which I think will make my Spanish learning experience easier.

There are lots of inspiring stories, helpful tips and learning strategies on the internet which has inspired me to start this adventure (and also hoping to make it as a venture). I’ll keep on updating my posts looking forward sharing my experiences that could also inspire others to be motivated with their own language learning adventures. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Starting my Language Learning Journey

  1. I think having learned English already, and studying French for a while will give you advantages in learning other languages. Portuguese and Spanish should come easier, plus I’ve read that the more languages you know, the easier it is to learn more! Keep learning!

    • Thanks for the inputs! English is somewhat like a de facto language here (a second language). Although its not our language, everyone’s given the privilege to learn it at school as part of the curriculum. Spanish before was also taught in every school, not until it was abolished by our law. I was lucky enough that internet is there to support every materials we need in language learning.

      • Thanks a shame to hear about the government abolishing Spanish being taught. It is a really vital language to learn. But good luck continuing to learn via the internet!

  2. Yesterday I went home and my mother and grandma were kind of talking about their experiences in Spanish at school. My mother to me was like, “you learn Spanish no longer? Pity you”. lol kkkk hahah.. I can really see they really enjoyed their high school and college days.

Leave a comment